First Crush ~ The Crusher and The Crushee

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “First Crush.” Who was your first childhood crush?

 ~

Picture 2

(This is my true story, including character’s name and physical description.)

It was in kindergarten,
his name was
Umberto

His hair was jet black, slick,
straight and thick, as
were his perfect
eyebrows 

His skin was smooth
with a slight sheen,
the color of rich,
fresh cream 

He was quiet, never rowdy
like the other boys; only
spoke if questioned
by the teacher

I began to notice that he
was always nearby, no
matter where I was,
there he was,
but not in a
bad way
it felt
okay

One day, he came right up
next to me and spoke, in
a voice that matched
the color of his
creamy
skin 

“I have something for you.”
he took my hand and
placed a fifty-cent
piece in the
center of my palm,
he giggled, then I giggled
and the deal was
sealed

We giggled together all
the way to the end of the
school year, when he
moved away and I
never saw him
again

I can open my palm today
and see a fifty-cent piece,
exactly as it was placed
on my hand so long
ago by
Umberto

Sometimes
I think
I hear the
giggling of two
five-year olds
playing
in the
yard

methinks
my thinking
is wishful

~

2 thoughts on “First Crush ~ The Crusher and The Crushee

Talk to me!

