My Red Dotted-Swiss Fourth of July Dress

Red Dress dotted swiss

On one particular fourth of July
when my sparkler ignited my dress
daddy rolled me on the lawn
until all the fire was gone
and
my most
favorite dress

was a mess

A hole in the skirt
where my thigh was burnt
and grass stains every which where
I would not change my dress
even under duress
no more sparklers for me
didn’t care

My mother patched up the hole
with fabric from the hem
I grew to love the grass stains
dotted-swiss goes well
with them

(Image is the exact same fabric as my dress, as is the style, except for the sleeves.)

~

One thought on “My Red Dotted-Swiss Fourth of July Dress

Talk to me!

