Do We Have a Crisis or Not?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In a Crisis.”

teenage_angerThis is a dialogue story that takes place at the walk-up window of a pharmacy. It depicts a conversation between a sweet middle-aged Pharmacy Tech and a frazzled teenage girl. Inspired by real events.
_____________________________________________


How may I help you today?

I need a Plan B! (catching her breath)

Sorry, what did you say?

I said, I need a Plan B. 

Aha, you would be referring to the morning-after pill, otherwise known as emergency contraception?

YES, that’s it! That’s exactly what I need. Do you have any?

I believe we do have some in stock, yes. Did you want to make a purchase now?

YES!

Alright. First, I need you to sit down on this chair, take a deep breath and sit quietly for a minute while I ask you a couple of simple questions, okay? 

Yeah, I guess.

So, you’re wanting the Plan B because you’ve had unprotected sex … is that correct?

Well … that depends on, like … what you mean by “unprotected.”

Let’s start with this … did you use a condom?

Yes! Oh, YES!

Okay, did you use it properly? You know, according to the directions and all?

Yes!

So … you were protected, then.

No, not really … it turns out there was this teeny-weeny tear in the condom. I mean, it was a brand new condom, but …

I understand. So, we have to assume you were not protected. Let’s just go on to the next question. Now, how long ago did you have this unprotected sex?

Ah … about 10 minutes ago.

10 minutes ago?

Yeah … well, I guess maybe it’s more like 15 or 20 minutes by now. I only live a few blocks away and I just ran over here.

Might I ask … where is the gentleman?

You mean my boyfriend? Oh…he had to go back to work.

Oh, my dear sweet young lady … you must learn something right here and right now. YOU deserve more than that.

Huh?

Listen to my words … you should never, ever settle for less than at least 15 minutes of cuddling and pillow talk after having sex. 

Yeah … I guess. Now can I please BUY the plan B?

Hold on, we’re almost there. Now, how old are you.

Um … how old do I have to be?

17 … with proof.

I’m 17, but I don’t have proof.

No driver’s license?

Nope …

Well, without proof of age, you’re going to need a doctor’s prescription to purchase a Plan B. So, I suggest you contact your GYN doctor to get a prescription.

I’ve never even been to a GYN doctor!  Oooh … this is getting worse and worse… how am I ever gonna get the Plan B!? My parents will be soooo pissed if they find out about any of this! The tears begin to flow . . .

Alright, alright. Now, take another deep breath and listen closely again. First of all, you have time … up to 72 hours after having unprotected sex, to prevent a pregnancy, okay? Of course, the sooner the better. So you’re okay for right now. I only have one more question. Do you live with your parents and are they home right now?

YES, I live with my parents and NO they are not home right now! Why do you think my boyfriend came over on his lunch break?

Of course. This evening, you’re going to talk to your parents, one or the other, or both, about your situation. If you can’t do that, there is a Planned Parenthood at 550 Main Street … go there tomorrow morning and they will help you. Okay? Now I want you to walk, not run, home. Will you do that?

Okay… I guess. Thanks … I guess … bye.

… and don’t forget … 15 minutes, at least! Always!

Yeah, yeah. ~

In a Crisis

5 thoughts on “Do We Have a Crisis or Not?

    1. Cat, you are “supposed” to feel whatever the heck you feel! 🙂 When I took that phone call in real life and she said, “about 10 minutes ago,” my first impulse was to LOL! But I’m practiced at stifling a first response laugh in professional situations. I’m just glad you enjoyed it, Cat!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’re talking about the meddling Pharm Tech, she is pure fiction and, of course, her employment would be terminated immediately in real life. If not, please enlighten me as to who/what you’re referring to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

