Being Six Years Old in the Kitchen #3

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Childhood Revisited.” Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood?

little-girl-rain-sadness-umbrella-pattern-lovely-background-for-children-picture-694x417

He grabbed the pot of coffee
from the blue and gold
flames of the gas burner,
hurled it across the room
against 
the far wall of the kitchen,
splattering coffee like a mural

in the shape of a large umbrella
opening up for a downpour

delicate brown trickles
slid down the wall
each led by a tiny bead of coffee
shaped like a tear drop

if I set my sights
on just one bead of coffee
and followed it all the way
down the wall

the scary stuff around me
seemed to fade away

daddy didn’t always
throw things in the kitchen
only when he drank
too much whiskey

at Casey’s bar

Childhood Revisited

9 thoughts on “Being Six Years Old in the Kitchen #3

    1. Hi Mon,
      I hope you get this message, as I can’t find your original question! Thank you for asking if I accept awards. I’m honored that you even inquired. After thinking about it, I’m simply not ready to indulge myself. 😦 I’m barely getting one blog post published a day, along with reading other people’s posts. Maybe someday . . . ? Thanks again. Lola

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, that’s fine! 🙂 A lot of people don’t even reply and I take it that they can’t accept it, haha. Thanks for taking the time 🙂

        Like

Talk to me!

