The Flip Side of Jealousy

 In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Green-Eyed Monster.”

118_1

She was the most popular girl in the class
all the way through grade school and Junior High.
Every year her parents hosted a grand party
to celebrate her birthday.
Every year, I was not invited.
Every year I felt the piercing sting of jealousy.
I began to feel that I just wasn’t “good enough.”

In high school, when we became fast friends,
I asked her why she never invited me to her parties.
She said it was because she was jealous of me.
Her mother always cited me as the exemplar of
how she wished her own daughter would behave.
I realized then, that perhaps I was just “too good.”  
~
Green-Eyed Monster

3 thoughts on “The Flip Side of Jealousy

Talk to me!

