I Walked the Line, Then I Erased It

F9g2FiPUSyC7IybhyI2p_09In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Walk the Line.”

In childhood,
my father endowed me
with two consistent,
but oppositional
messages.

When he thought I was
asking too many questions,

“YOU THINK TOO MUCH”
When he thought I did
something stupid,

“YOU JUST DON’T THINK”

Instinctively,
I did what every child
does 
to ensure survival,
I improvised, also known
as
“adaptation”
in evolutionary
circles.

I learned to think
just enough

to keep his approval level
above survival, 

but not enough
to let his approval level
drop below extinction.

I created a  line
straight down the middle of
“too much” and “not enough.”

I learned to walk that line
like a tightrope artist

I became a star performer.

By the time I reached
adulthood,
I was an expert
in middle-of-the-road

thinking, an outstandingly
unhelpful skill in the
grown-up world.

Gradually
I erased the line,
grateful for its steady
support, but no longer
needed
as I soared far beyond
its
limitations. 
 

 

I Walk the Line

4 thoughts on “I Walked the Line, Then I Erased It

Talk to me!

